Flirting with the Morality Line

Standard

While at work the other day, I overheard two teenage girl customers talking. I didn’t catch the entire conversation, but they were talking about another girl dressing like a slut and wearing corsets. One girl said “well I wear corsets.” Her friend replied “Ya, but I’ve seen yours and they are just like regular shirt corsets. Hers are sex corsets.”  My opinion, all corsets are sex corsets. Sure you could wear one over a shirt and it’s a little less slutty, but the fact of the matter is you are wearing something that was designed to be worn under clothes, over your clothes and drawing a lot of attention to your boobs.

As I was laughing at the girls’ ridiculously immature justification of corset wearing, I sadly realized that I often make the same justification for sin.  Sure cussing is wrong, but that guy totally cut me off! Sure the Bible says not to get drunk, but come on its New Years! Premarital sex is definitely wrong, but premarital third base…

Corsets are corsets and sin is sin. Yet how many times have I judged someone because they embraced a sin more fully or committed a sin more times than I did? We are still committing the same sin and will be judged by the same God. Not everything is this world is black and white, but I’m old enough and know the Bible well enough to know what is right and what is wrong. Maybe in 2010 I’ll stop making justification for my own sin and judging others for theirs. Okay, it’s not likely that that will happen all year long, but if I could cut the justification and judging by 30%, that would be a huge in improvement. In 2011 I’ll shoot for 50%. O Lord, have you got your work cut out for you this year…

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

Leave a Reply

