Self Discovery

Standard

The past few weeks have been full of self discovery. Which is good, because I was starting to get a little worried that my mind numbing job had fried all of my critical thinking and introspection skills. But thanks to the book club, online classes and very intellectual sunday sermons, I am slowly starting to feel my brain working again. And here is what it has told me about myself.

1) Go with the obvious. I realize that for the past year, I’ve been ignoring the most obvious career paths. I love working with kids, and I’m good at it. I love writing, and I’m good at it. So why am I applying for jobs as an executive assistant, or a marketing intern, or a social media consultant. Those things do interest me, but they aren’t what I am passionate about. I am passionate about kids and I am passionate about writing, so I’m going to look for careers that allow me to do at least one, but ideally both, of those things.

2) I like a clean car. I know, I know, this might be the most surprising news since Obama’s peace prize. But I got my car cleaned yesterday and when I got into it today I actually breathed a sigh of relief! It was so nice to not stop on old socks or rip important papers that ended up on the floor. I’m going to try really hard to keep my car clean from now on. But don’t worry, I’m still a car hoarder at heart and my trunk will always be proof of that 😉

3) I like “normal couple” nights. The past few weeks joe and I have had alot of normal couple nights…those nights where we are both home by 6:30, we cook and eat dinner together, we watch a few shows, do some household chores and are asleep by midnight (which is early for us.) I LOVE those nights. Even on nights tonight where we don’t talk much (joe was doing our taxes and I was working on homework) its so nice to end my day with him. And we always eat better food when its the two of us. Who wants to cook a whole crock pot meal for just one person?

4). Dishes. I have always hated doing dishes. But I have learned a routine to help me get them done. Eat my food, go do ONE other activity, then come back and wash the dishes. If there are alot of dishes, I do them in shifts. Its so much easier for me than standing at the sink for thirty minutes doing them all at once. YUCK!

5) I like to have a balance of useless aesthetic beauty and rigid practicaliy in my life. This is a realization brought to me by book club readings. We are currently reading The Picture of Dorian Gray and it talks alot about “beauty for the sake of beauty.” I think its important to have things in our life that have no real purpose, they are just pretty or fun. But I prefer to have those useless aesthetics be the seasoning in life and for practicality to be the meat. More on this topic in another post.

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

One response »

  1. Definitely agree on #5, and I look forward to another post on that. My favorite gifts (to receive AND give) have been functional, useful gifts. However I also can’t help but enjoy the just-for-fun stuff (like my Robot Pencil Sharpener, or Executive Desk Gong).

Leave a Reply

