Vaguebooking

Standard

One of my absolute dearest friends recently shared with her Facebook network that she “finds it annoying how people blog and post about every aspect of their life.” I immediately got on her case about it because I knew I was one of those people she was currently annoyed by. The ensuing “comment conversation,” which also included her boyfriend and aunt, proved that I was the minority and there are several people out there annoyed by my hour by hour postings of irrelevant life events. Sad day! I totally understand where they are coming from…i can imagine how some people would find it annoying to hear that i just ate “the most amazing cake that tasted like a chocolate cloud” or that I am “sitting cozy in my bed listening to the rain.”  However, I post my life story because I love hearing other people’s life stories. If you just bought the cutest pair of shoes, tell me about it! I want to hear that you have a job interview tomorrow. I honestly love how social networking has obliterated privacy.

What I don’t love, however, is “vaguebooking.” I learned this term from urbandictionary.com and I love it. It refers to people posting vague facebook statuses to solicit a response from others. For example, “last night was a mistake.”  That doesn’t tell me anything. Now you are forcing me to choose between ignoring you and never knowing what happened last night, or giving in to your desperate needy cries for attention and asking what went wrong. Lame. The whole point of facebook is for me to know what is going on in your life without actually having to interact with you. If you don’t want people to know what happened last night, then take a tip from my bestie and don’t post anything. If you want us to know, then just come right out and tell us. All “vaguebooking” is doing is pissing us both off. And as anyone who worked with us at Y summer camp three years ago knows, pissing off Brianna AND Amanda is never a good thing.

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

9 responses »

  1. I agree about hating when people are vague. I am an open book to whoever is willing to listen. I feel like being transparent is to my benefit. I have nothing to hide. The only time I don’t say what I am really thinking is when I know it will effect another person or it is about another person. Then I think you should just keep your little lips sealed!

    • soo true, especially the part about talking about other people. Which is another ridiculous vaguebooking technique … “omg he made me so mad I want to punch him in the face.” Really, you’re gonna take your gossiping to the level of vague facebook status updates. Not cool

  2. I have never heard the term “vaguebooking” before… but I love it! I must admit to having blocked a few of my old classmates because of their minute by minute, blow by blow, facebooking of their life. I mean… how many times can you hear “I should be studying… but here I am.. on FB.”??? before you scream? I mean, I know what’s coming… “I failed my exam. How did THAT happen?”

    • so true! like i said, i love the minute by minute updates however, even I can admit that repeated updates are lame. spice it up a bit

  3. Ugh, I’m not a fan of vaguebooking either. I’m nosy, I need to know what is UP. I don’t want to read, “Just realized my life sucks.” WHY? Why does your life suck? Elaborate please.

    • i know, right? And its even worse when thier other friends know whats going on and just say things like “aw, I’m praying for you.” or ” i heard what happened. call me so we can talk.” ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Now everybody knows but me. not fair

  4. Pingback: Your Facebook Posts are Bugging Me « So Here's The Thing…

Leave a Reply

