Take Me Out to the Ball Game

Standard

Take me out to the ball game, take me out with the crowd

Joe and I both have awesome bosses that like to provide us with free Angels tickets. And getting free tickets so early in the season has really gotten me in the spirit of baseball. I’ve always been a baseball fan and always loved the Angels. In jr. high I played softball and kept close tabs on how the Anaheim boys were doing. Over the years I didn’t really think about baseball until I was invited to a game. But this season, its all coming back to me. The cheering, the red hats, the excitement and tension, the RALLY MONKEY…I love it.

Buy me some peanuts and cracker jacks. I don’t care if I ever get back

Joe and I had the privelege of accompanying our Temecula niece and nephews to thier first baseball game last Friday. They loved it. Thier mom and I taught them all the cheers and they yelled thier little hearts out when the Angels came up to bat. It was a little disappointing that we were taking a potty break when Matsui hit the only HR of the game, but what are ya gonna do? On the way back from the potty our niece Kristen went crazy over cotton candy and I revisted an old time favorite the Cracker Jack. Delicious! And they still come with prizes in them. Mine was a pencil topper. I will definately make cracker jacks part of my baseball ritual.

On a side note, I don’t understand the line “I don’t care if I ever get back.” You don’t care if you come back to another game? Of course you do, you love baseball that’s the whole point of the song. Or is it you don’t care if you ever get back to real life? Well then you’d miss basketball season and well…that’s another post for another time.

Let me root root root for the home team

As I said before, I have always been an Angels fan. But I never really had any strong feelings towards other teams until I worked for a man who was OBSESSED with the Dodgers. It was funny, but at times very annoying. And his intense love for them spawned in me an intense hatred. And wouldn’t you know it, my new boss is also a huge Dodgers fan. Booo! I must say though her daughter, who I take care every afternoon, is pretty brillant in her baseball knowledge. She knows all the players, who the best batters are and can recall interesting tidbits of Dodgers history. I have literally been studying Angels stats just so I can go head to head with her in our daily battles as to who is better.

If they don’t win its a shame

They just swept thier series against the Oakland Athletics (which, btw, is a really dumb name. Obviously you’re athletic, you play professional sports ya ding dong) which is pretty awesome because they are one spot ahead of us in the Western division. Now its on to Texas, who is first in the division, and here is hoping that the new batting line up keeps producing victories!  

For its one, two, three strikes your out at the old ball game

The Baseball Almanac has an interesting article about this song that talks about how it was written and even gives more lyrics to the song. Apparently the popular part is just the chorus and there are actually verses. Check it out

Leave a Reply

