Say Yes to the Dress

Standard

As my one year wedding anniversary approaches, I’m getting very nostalgic. I’m remembering my life a year ago, and all the last minute preparations and decisions. The flowers were something Joe and I took a long time to decide on and I think even just three weeks before the wedding we were still talking with my Grandma about what the arrangements were actually going to look like. My bridesmaids and I went to MAC to figure out the wedding make up, I got the final alterations on the dress done, I FINALLY got the right bridesmaids shoes…ah memories. However, I think tonight I may have taken nostalgia a bit too far. As I write this post I am wearing my wedding dress. And veil. Ya, ya…the shoes too.

It all started a few weeks ago when I found out I could watch “Say Yes to the Dress” on Netflix instant queue. Awesome! Watching all these brides find their dream dress made me miss mine. Then my sister reminded me for the hundredth time that I needed to get my dress and veil out of her closet. And tod

ay was kind of a stressful hectic day. So after visiting my best friend who was in a boat that literally blew up yesterday(another post for another day) I stopped by my parent’s house to get the dress. There were two episodes of “Say Yes” that I hadn’t watched yet so I put on the dress, veil and shoes, grabbed the fake flower bouquet off my coffee table and enjoyed my show.

It was never a super fancy dress to begin with. Now it’s wrinkly, still dirty from my wedding day, and way too  tight because I’ve gained weight since the wedding. The beautiful veil that my mom handmade for me is coming apart a bit at the edges. But it’s still my wedding dress and when I put it on I remember all of the love, laughter, beauty, hard work and fun that went into that ensemble and the wedding as a whole. Nearly one year later, I’m happy to say that even in my regular clothes living my regular life,  my husband still makes me feel like the blissful bride I was that day.

P.S. Brides on a tight budget SHOULD NOT watch “say yes to the dress.”  It will only make you want what you can’t have.

P.P.S I wrote this post last night but it worked better to write in present tense rather than past tense and I always post on Wednesday mornings and..ya…it just worked okay?

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

Leave a Reply

