eat your lycopene

Standard

I have major writers block today. So I decided to go to my never failing arsenal of ridiculous stories…customer service.  Six years of working in the food biz has given me some fantastic customer service stories. Here are a few of my classics.

Customer walks up to the window (not the drive thru but an actual walk up window) and THROWS her food in the stand. Throws it. I’m like, “Ma’am, that was inappropriate.” She responds, “I think it was totally appropriate. My meat was pink.” Are you kidding me? You’re burger was little bit pink and you figured the best way to deal with that was to throw your food at us? Just as I was about to say, “well how about you come in here and cook it yourself” my boss intervened and gave her her money back so she would go away. Dang his integrity and commitment to the customer!

Customer takes out his mouth retainer that costs a few hundred dollars. Customer puts it on his tray. Customer throws it away. An associate takes out the dining room trash and the customer gets upset with us. Um, what? Pretty sure you’re the one who threw it away buddy. He asks if he can dig through our big trash can during the busiest time of day (ew if he found it he was going to put it back in his mouth? Sick).  He can’t be in the back by himself and we can’t spare any associates to be there with him so we ask him to come back. So he comes back at lunch time the next day. WOOOOOOW. Of course he never finds it so he calls customer service and asks the company to pay for it.

Not all the customers are annoying. Most of them are normal and some of them are really cool. Like the customer who told me that he had just finished his prostate cancer treatment and the cancer had gone into remission. He told me that lycopene, which can be found in tomatoes and watermelon, can prevent prostate cancer so I should tell all the guys I know to eat lots of tomatoes and watermelon. I thought it was so cool that 1) he had beat cancer and 2) he was making it his personal mission to spread knowledge to reduce cancer. I looked it up and lycopene can actually be found it lots of different red fruits and vegetables. So there you guys, eat your lycopene. After all, the customer IS always right.

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

Leave a Reply

