The Packing List is Essential

Standard

First off, let me say that I appreciate the opposing and affirming views on my last post. Everyone brought up some really great points AND they did it in a respectful manner. Yay! Honestly you can disagree with me all day long on every topic and as long as you are respectful and don’t call me names we can still walk away being friends. I intend to respond to all of the comments, I just need to find time to think through them and respond to them thoughtfully. You guys took the time to write great content in your comments, I would like my response to be as equally thoughtful.

Speaking of being busy…holy crap. I have been so busy and summer has flown by. It’s been fun though. I won’t bore you with the details of our   hilarious adventures, but I will entertain you with the details of one in particular-our camping trip.

Camping is one of those things that tests relationships. Be it family, friendships or marriages, all relationships are either strengthened or ruined by a camping trip. Luckily, my relationships with the five other people on this trip, including my husband, were strengthened. There were times though, when it was a little iffy.

This tale actually starts the day before our trip. I woke up to find a GIANT spider bite right where butt and thigh meet. I haven’t ever had a bite this big. I was worried, but since itching was the only symptom I decided to wait before rushing myself to urgent care. I wanted to monitor its size, however, so I drew a circle around it with a sharpie. That way if the bite grew out of the circle I would know that it was getting bigger. I thought this was a great idea but so far everyone who has heard this story has laughed out loud and told me that I’m wierd.  Whatever.

I woke up at 2:00 AM the next day to get ready to leave and the bite was definitely bigger. Greeaaat. I didn’t know what to do about it so I just drew another sharpie circle and packed up the truck. We hit the road at 4:00am. At 5:00am I asked Joe if he had packed the lunch meat and the jelly. He hadn’t. Sweet, we were in charge of food and we forgot everything we needed for all our lunches. Well, I guess that was our way of getting even with our friend H for making a camping reservation that was 6 1/2 hours away when we only had three days to camp. So the journey continues.

We were driving through northern CA in the Salinas Valley. There were lots of wineries so we stopped by one and did a wine tasting and had a picnic lunch. We had stopped at a store earlier and gotten lunch meat and jelly, but when we opened the cooler we realized there were no condiments. Epic fail #2. We ended up having turkey and jelly sandwiches which were actually quite delicious. How does that saying go? Desperation is the mother of invention?

We took one more detour and visited the John Steinbeck Museum. I love John Steinbeck. C, H and I all read East of Eden together in our book club so we were especially stoked to be going to the museum together.

Great Steinbeck quote. There were so many of them at the museum, the man was a literary genious

entrance of the Steinbeck museum

 

When we finally arrived at the campsite at 4:00pm, we were pretty tired. Which is good, because I didn’t have the energy to be upset about the fact that there were NO SHOWERS ANYWHERE and that the nearest bathrooms were porta potties and that all the water in the campsite had been contaminated with poop so we had to boil it before using it. Being tired also meant that I only had a mini heart attach instead of a major one when my husband backed the GIANT F250 extended cab truck into a tiny parking space surrounded by rocks. Good times.

Day 2, our only full day at the camp site, was pretty uneventful. We had a lot of fun playing in the river and hiking. We made delicious smores and Joe cooked some amazing burgers. O but wait, remember the spider bite? Saturday morning I looked at it and panicked. It was black! The following conversation ensued in my head:

“OMG I’m going to die. We are miles away from civilization,this bite is poisoning me and eating my body and I’m going to die. It’s ironic that I’m going to die in the wilderness of a bite I got in my own civilized bed. Bah, this is no time to contemplate irony, Bri. You’re gonna die.”

But right before I screamed my woes to the rest of the world, I rememberd that the day before I had put hydrocortisone cream on it and that the cream had probably smeared the sharpie. Further inspection revealed that it was ink, not bruising or gangreen, and that the bite had actually gotten smaller and wasn’t itching at all. It was the opposite of death, I was healing! Crisis averted.

Our third epic fail though was that on our last night we got ready to make chili dogs only to realize we forgot the dogs. Seriously Joe, did you not even think about anything else other than burgers when you were packing? In N Out is getting to your head. Anyways we once again utilized our creativity and put chilli, cheese and crumbled BBQ potato chips on a hot dog bun. Not bad. Although I once again felt a twinge of frustration when later, while sitting around the campfire, I realized that I was the only person out of the whole group that had never planned a camping trip before. Really, you guys let the newbie be in charge of the food? Well you learned you’re lesson.

In all seriousness though, it was a great trip. H and A, who have been good friends of me and Joe for years,  moved to the East Coast a week after this trip, so it was great to soak up a little more time with them. Joe and I didn’t know C and K that well, but we discovered we have a lot in common and will for sure be hanging with them more in the future.  Nobody got mad at us for forgetting so much food and despite the little mini dramas it was a really relaxing trip (thanks, in no small part, to all the booze we brought). And as for Joe and I, we survived our first camping trip together with more laughter than tears and plans to do it again. But we will follow the most important lesson we learned on this trip: MAKE A PACKING CHECKLIST!

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

One response »

  1. Haha, good times. Reminds me of a trip recently where Darrin was in charge of bringing food. Sandwiches, actually. He did, in fact, remember the turkey, and cheese, and salami, and mustard.

    But failed to bring bread. Which, for sandwiches, is kind of a key ingredient.

Leave a Reply

