The Marriage Translation

Standard

My husband and I have known each other for six years. That’s so crazy to me. That’s longer than I went to high school. Double the time I went to college. I can count on one hand the friends I’ve known longer than six years. Crazy. But, I digress. In those six years our communication techniques have evolved. I’ve somewhat mastered the art of asking him to do things around the house in a why that will get him to actually do them. He has learned that communicating with me during my “lady time” is ridiculous. Just give me some ice cream and a foot rub and no one gets hurt.

I have also realized that things my husband has been saying for the past six years have started to take on a different meaning. Whether the meaning has changed or merely my interpretation of it, I have no idea. But certain phrases that used to be so sweet and romantic six years ago are now very…well…realistic. Allow me to explain.

“When are you coming home?”

Translation six years ago: I miss you alot and I can’t wait to see you

Modern day translation: I need clean socks. When are you going to be home to do laundry?

“You look really nice tonight.”

Translation six years ago: You are so beautiful. I can’t wait to take you out and show you off

Modern day translation: Thank goodness you’re wearing something other than sweatpants!

“Whatever you want, Dear.”

Translation six years ago: I just want you to be happy. I live for your happiness. Seeing your smile lights up my life

Modern day translation: If I just give you what you want will you please shut up!

“I’ve been thinking about you all day.”

Translation six years ago: I’ve been thinking about how beautiful and smart you are and about how lucky I am to have you in my life.

Modern day translation: I’ve been super horny all day.

“I love you.”

Translation six years ago: I respect you, admire you and want to be with you forever

Modern day translation: I love you, respect you, admire you and want to be with you even mroe than I did six years ago.

Aww, well look at that. We do have some romance in us after all 😉

Now its your turn. What phrases spoken between you and your spouse/friend/sibling/parent/child have changed their translation over the years?

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

