Stomach Wars

Standard

For the past two weeks I’ve had crazy stomach pains, varying intensity from “slightly more uncomfortable than normal” to “holy crap, what started the war between my large and small intestine? I swear bombs and poisonous gas are seeping through my digestive tract and slowly killing me.” When the war of the bowels started interfering with my work, I succumbed to the inevitable and made a doctor’s appointment.

I have this ritual for going to the doctor. I imagine that I have the worst condition possible, which is usually cancer. I prepare myself for my terminal diagnosis, practice what I’m going to say to my friends and family, and come to grips with my rapidly approaching death. This is crazy and dramatic, I know, but this way when I go to the doctor and get my boring diagnosis (which can almost ahelways be fixed with over the counter drugs. Seriously, why do I even bother with the doctor) I feel extremely relieved and thankful for my health and my life. It basically makes a mundane obnoxious act much more exciting.

I went through the same ritual this time around. Of course I did not have cancer. I did, however, have an ulcer. This struck me as incredibly odd. See, I spent the first 20 years of my life being a complete stress case. Had I gotten an ulcer in high school it wouldn’t have surprised me in the least. But in the past 4 ½ years I’ve really toned it down. I’ve embraced a more laid back, go with the flow lifestyle. I like laid-back, fun Brianna way more than stressed out Brianna (although admittedly, stressed out Brianna is a lot more productive). So why now, now that I have trained my mind to embrace a more carefree lifestyle, does my body choose to produce an ailment that is so closely related to stress. I’m baffled.

I asked the doctor if something else besides stress could be causing the ulcer. She said named a few other things and tested me for them, but they all came back negative. I did some research and found that sometimes food allergies can cause ulcers. And while I don’t have any severe allergies, I have suspected for a long time that dairy was not doing my stomach any favors. So maybe I need to lay off the dairy.

I’m going to keep looking for answers because honestly, if the amount of stress in my life right now is causing me ulcers I am in some serious trouble. This is probably the least stressful time in my whole life. Once we move into the “buying a house/ looking for a new job for Joe/having kids” stage of life, we are in for a treat. I have a feeling stressed out Brianna will resurface with a vengeance. And my poor gastrointestinal tract will pay the price.

Have any of you ever had an ulcer? What caused it? What helped it go away?

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

3 responses »

  1. I had upper and lower GI tract ulcers due to food allergies.

    What was worse was this was back in the 80s, when they didn’t know as much about this sort of thing.When they couldn’t find any cause for my GI bleeding, my dr at the time offered me anti-depressants.

    Fortunately, my sister had been thru this before me and knew the symptoms. The allergist my family used put me on an elmination diet for allergic foods, a rotation diet because my family develops food allergise more easily to food we’re exposed to a lot, and some medicinal drops to clear the allergies

    The ulcers healed. most of my food allergies cleared up, and all is well

    Hope that helps
    catherine
    Foresight

    • Thank you Catherine, that is extremely helpful. I had no idea that people can develop food allergies to food they are exposed to a lot. That’s interesting. I’m on medication and a bland diet right now. If those don’t work its off to the allergist I go. Thanks again for the info and empathisizing with my pain!

      • It’s called chronic multiple allergic syndrome.

        And by the by, bland food is not always the solution. If you’re getting intestinal ulcers because you’re allerguc to dairy, then plain milk is not the answer

        Good luck

        Catherine
        Foresight

Leave a Reply

