My Most Embarrasing Moment

Standard

Two stories for ya and both involve underwear. Its good times.

Story #1 Your Underwear Doesn’t Belong at Work

My brother is a typical 21 year old. He works, goes to schools, eats at wierd hours, plays music, loves to have fun and has a grosteque room. Seriously, it’s like a bomb went off in a dumpster. Despite the fact that it grosses everyone else out, it never really seems to bother him. Until last Saturday.

He had a work meeting at 8am. He rolls out of bed and throws on whatever pair of pants is closest to his bed. The smoke detector went off and he was the only one awake so he spent a few minutes fixing that situation. Consequently, he was late for his meeting and by the time he got there all 40 other associates were already sitting down, waiting for the meeting to start. My brother walks across the front of the room, with everyone watching him, and suddenly a pair of underwear falls out of his pants! HAHAHAHAHA!!!! Dirty underwear fell right out of the pant leg in front of everybody. Everyone started laughing and called him “Chonies” for the rest of the day.

And in case your wondering, yes, his room is still a disaster. Apparently the underwear incident wasn’t that embarrasing for him 🙂

Story #2 Flashing Your Underwear is not a Good Way to Make New Friends

It’s summer of 2008. I’m FINALLY working my dream job as a summer camp counselor. I was working at a houseboats camp up in Lake Shasta and was having a great time. Being the introvert that I am, however, I was having a bit of a hard time feeling as if I fit in with the rest of the staff. But by the end of the second week I was feeling pretty comfortable. I was joking with people, making conversation, learning about their lifes stories…all that fun stuff.

We had a “Christmas in July” celebration and did a white elephant gift exchange. The point was to be a silly, ridiculous and cheap as possible. I bought some playdough at Target and wrapped it in one of my pillow cases. We start the gift exchange and people start opening some really funny stuff. Fake mustaches, a Jesus kite…stuff like that. Suddenly someone picks my gift. She opens it up and laughs, then says “O wait, there is something else in there.”

I start to panic. I had only put the playdough in there! What is she going to pull out? Before I could leap across the boat dock and stop her, the girl pulled out a pair of…yep you guessed it…underwear! MY UNDERWEAR!!! GAAHHH. Turns out I had unknowningly used the pillowcase that doubled as my dirty close bag. The girl freaked out and threw my underwear across the dock and it landed right in the middle of the circle of people. Everyone starts laughing and asking “Who’s underwear is that?” My face turned beat red and I decided to just keep it cool and not say anything. BUT THEN, I realized that the underwear, like every other piece of clothing I brought with me to camp, was clearly labeled with my last name. There was no way I could hide it. So I took a deep breath, put on a big smile, grabbed my underwear and stuffed it in my pocket. Luckily, the rest of the staff was really cool. They gave me a bit of a hard time, but we were able to laugh about it together.

So here’s the moral of the story kids…keep your underpants in your dresser! What’s your most embarrasing moment?

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

7 responses »

  1. Coulda been worse. Insteada “chonies” they coulda called him “skidmarks.” ;o)

    I once left my clothes in the drier, and two friends, deciding to be sweethearts, folded them for me as a surprise while I was in a meeting. When I got back to my dorm room, there were the piles of fresh laundry. Only I hadn’t washed underwear, and there was a nice neat stack of it on my bed. Huge, heavily stained underwear. Apparently I hadn’t paid attention and had thrown my clothes in the drier with someone’s underwear. To this day, I haven’t had the heart to tell my friends that the nasty underwear they folded wasn’t even mine.

    • um yes…”skidmarks” would have been way worse! And your story made me laugh. I admire your maturity…i would have made clear to EVERYONE that those underpants were NOT mine. Even if they were mine, I would have been wierded out by other people folding my underwear.

  2. I have to say that I have not had too many embarassing moments. Most were small and I just passed them off as things that didn’t bother me. So here is one story that might count. When I was in 7th grade I entered a photo contest that was put on by Disney. Well, I won the award for black and white film photography. On the night of the awards ceremony all the participants had to meet at Dinseyland. The ceremony was held in what is not the princess meet and greet stage area near toon town. So it was a big stage with a large audience. Ok so we were put into groups based on what we were getting our awards for. Well somehow I was put into the WRONG group. I went up on stage and one by one all the other kids were mentioned and awarded as I stood there waiting. As our groups time on stage concluded, one of the ceremony directors motions me off stage and says I was put in the wrong group. She told me to go up again with a different group. When my second group was called I stood up, walked over to the stairs that lead to the stage, started walking up them and… I tripped! In a skirt, in front of every person there. Not only did I go up on stage with the wrong group and I also had to go up again and tripped on the way up there. I guess this story counts as two embarassing moments. But I did get a sweet mickey mouse trouphy and after the awards show we got to walk out of Disneyland while it was empty because the ceremony ran so late. It felt magical.

Leave a Reply

