Things That Are Making Me Smile

Standard

1) Dried Mangos. I may have actually found a healthy alternative to satisfy my sweet tooth. I’m usually not a huge fan of fresh mangos, but the dried ones are delicious! They are chewy and sweet, so much so that I can actually convince myself that it’s some sort of candy. I picked some up at Sprouts the other day and ate them all. I definitely have to go back ASAP

2) Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides. I’ve heard all the critiques: “The franchise is burned out. Do we really need ANOTHER pirates movie? Orlando Bloom isn’t even going to be in it, why bother?” Well you know what, I don’t care! It’s an adventure movie with awesome music, mermaids, pirates and Captain Jack Sparrow. That’s enough for me. Admittedly, the fact that neither Orlando Bloom nor Keira Knightly were going to be in it did bum me out, but I saw a 3D preview for the movie at Disneyland and my disappointment is gone. This movie will be epic.

3) Baseball. More specifically, going to Opening Day at Angel’s stadium on Friday!!!! I’ve been an Angel’s fan ever since I was a kid but I have never been to an Opening Day game. As if that isn’t enough, I’m going with my husband and my best friends and I get off work early. WOO HOO!!!!

4) My Film Scores Pandora Station. I’m one of those people that needs almost complete silence when they work. However, complete silence is very boring. I’ve tried tv and music with lyrics, but I always get distracted. So I tried classical, and that was kind of boring. But film scores are perfect! No words, but enough pizzaz to keep things entertaining while I write yet another real estate blog about short sales.

5) Camping. We booked our camping sites and got our vacation time approved. At the end of July we are going to camp in Yosemite!!! We have both lived in California our whole lives and neither my husband nor I have ever been to Yosemite. But we’ve got a 5 day trip planned with some pretty amazing people. I’m excited.

6) The Vietnamese restaurant by my house. There are several Asian restaurants within walking distance of my apartment. I love Asian food, but I always get nervous when it comes to trying unknown restaurants that serve foreign food. My thought process is this: I’m used to American food. I know when a burger or waffles or a bowl of chicken noodle soup tastes funky. But honestly, if an Asian or Mexican or Italian dish was bad, I would probably think it was just some special spice they put in it. I would force myself to eat it because I don’t like wasting money or sending food back. Then I’d be up all night with food poisoning. But on Friday I got the guts to try the Vietnamese restaurant by our house and I was pleasantly surprised. It was delicious. So good that I took Joe there on Saturday. I had pan fried rice noodles with chicken. Yummy!

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

One response »

Leave a Reply

