Marking Off the Bucket List

Standard

The first quarter of the year has ended and its time to take a look at my 2011 bucket list. What have I accomplished so far? Sadly, not a whole lot. But, there has been progress. I did volunteer at the soup kitchen with my church. Our church supports Father Serra’s Pantry in San Juan Capistrano. We collect food donations once a month and on the second Saturday of every month a group goes to the pantry and helps pass out food. Joe was able to go with me to the pantry in March it was so fun working with him. His crazy work schedule doesn’t allow us to serve together on a regular basis at church. Whenever we get a chance to go for just a day and help the community or our church we always jump at the chance.

Another item on my bucket list was to read 5 books from my “50 books I want to read before I have kids” list. So far I’ve read three, Cry the Beloved Country, Life of Pi and The Color Purple.  That’s pretty good and I think I’ll be able to get 5 read by June. That is if I ever get through Tender is the Night. I am so disappointed in that book. I remember loving The Great Gatsby in high school and I was so excited to read another F. Scott Fitzgerald book. But reading this one is so complicated. I seriously do not understand what is going on half the time. But I am already 100 pages in an determined to finish it. I got a study guide from the library so hopefully that will help my muddle my way through. And as long as I pick better books, like Life of Pi was,  I might exceed my goal and read 10 by the end of the school year. Go me!

I had ten total things on my bucket list and I would like to have 5 completed by June. So hopefully, in the next three months, I’ll go to the Huntington Library, go to a professional basketball game and take surf lessons. Here’s hoping!

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

6 responses »

    • I loved it! My favorite parts were the letters from Nettie to Celie talking about life as an African Missionary. As a sheltered white American Christian who has supported many missionaries in foreign countries, it was incredibly eye opening to see how ineffective, and sometimes hurtful, certain missionary methods are. I also loved that the book looked at so many different types of relationships from so many different angles. Human relationships are never nice and neat, they are always messy, emotional and convoluted and most of life is spent trying to make sense of all that. I think the book conveyed that message very well and portrayed the relationships between all the characters very honestly. I also liked how the book ended…with Celie learning to stand up for herself and also realizing that happiness is a choice.

  1. I’m a HUGE Fitzgerald fan, and I can’t get through Tender is the Night either. I would recommend reading Babylon Revisited or This Side of Paradise instead. Or the Pat Hobby Stories.

    • So I got a commentary book about Tender is the Night and it told me how the book ends…not very exciting. And based on your review of the book I think I’m going to take it off the list and replace it with This Side of Paradise. I really want to read a Fitzgerald classic…but Tender is the Night just isn’t the one. Thanks for the suggestions!

  2. The Huntington Library is up by me! Damien and I were supposed to visit it, but it was closed on our intended day (Tuesday), so we went to the LA Arboretum instead (also beautiful). The Huntington Library is still on our list of things to do, and I have some free passes. Want to make it a double date? Or go with just us girls? Or go by yourself and come have coffee/dinner/lunch with me while you are up here?

    • yes to all of those things! I’ve actually had a lot of people tell me that they want to go so I’m thinking of getting a group together. But I want to catch up with you so maybe we could get a group together and then you and I could go to coffee afterwards and catch up on life? I’ll start making plans and then let you know.

Leave a Reply

