Metamorphisis and the Modern Woman

Standard

I would like to tell you a little story. But before I do, I need to remind you of a few things. I am 25. My husband is almost 27. We live on our own, are self-sufficient and, supposedly, we do not have stunted development. We also do not have children. This is all very important to remember. Read on.

About a week ago my husband, my almost 27 year old husband, brought in a FAT caterpillar. Remember that scene from the Lion King when Timon and Pumbaa are eating the gigantic grubs? That’s how big this thing was. He was fascinated by it and kept it in a jar for a few days. Eventually he let it go, afraid that it would die or something. I thought the whole thing was kind of cute. Joe does not get overly excited about much in life, so when he does get that little boy grin on his face I melt a little. Anyways, the caterpillar goes free and life goes on.

Then just a couple days ago, he shows me a jar with another caterpillar inside. This one is much smaller and its starting to build its cocoon. The jar is clear and the caterpillar is building the cocoon on the side of the jar so we can see inside the cocoon. It’s pretty cool. Again, my husband is oddly excited, I think its adorable, and life goes on.

Today, I’m sitting on my bed and I see the caterpillar jar. I pick it up, look at the cocoon, set it down, no biggie. Then all of the sudden, it hits me: THERE IS A CATERPILLAR IN MY ROOM RIGHT NEXT TO BY BED. What. The. Heck. What grown, respectable woman is okay with a caterpillar being near her bed? Its bad enough I caved and said the dog could sleep near our bed, but now this? Its a freaking zoo in here.

And is it really adorable that my grown, childless husband caught a caterpillar in a jar or is it just plain strange? I don’t like to ruin his excitement since, honestly, it comes along so rarely (of course if you ask he says he gets excited “just enough”) but is this going to far? And most importantly, why is this caterpillar jar near my bed?

I don’t know the answers to these questions and I don’t know what to do about the situation. Honestly, I think what bothers me is that it really doesn’t bother me. The caterpillar has been there for four days and I’m just now thinking about this. It really isn’t that big a deal so I’m just going to move on. I did move the jar to the bookshelf though. The whole situation seems a little more dignified that way.

Maybe I should name the caterpillar. Any suggestions? Here’s a photo to give you some inspiration.

so heres the thing

what shall I name it?

Leave a Reply

