Happy Birthday To My Little Bro

Standard

Today is my little brother’s 22nd birthday. Its very strange to say that my little brother is 22. Am I really old enough to have a little brother that is 22? Yes, I am old enough to have a 22 year old brother. Do you think I’ve said “22” and “brother” enough in the first 4 sentences of this blog? Well in case I didn’t, and in case you missed it, this blog is dedicate to my little brother who turns 22 today.

I admire my brother for many reasons. For one thing, he is super relational and cares a lot about people. You can always count on him to help you move, go out to a bar, host a game night or help you solve a conflict. If you need help, he is always willing to drop everything and be supportive. He’s also a good time guy, always cracking jokes and brightening people’s day. If you have a super boring obligatory event to go to, bring my brother. He finds ways to make EVERYTHING entertaining.

My brother is also super talented. He’s an excellent musician, specifically, an excellent drummer. He is super laid back, normally, but when it comes to music he is all passion. He practices for hours and when he plays he gets super intense (they had to build a wall around him at church because he played too hard and too loud.) I’m so proud of him for using his musical talents to serve God on the praise and worship team at church. He’s been doing it for years and, even when I gave it up because of crazy church politics, he stuck it out and just kept drumming as best he could for Jesus.

Not only can he play instruments, he’s really good at drawing as well. When we were kids we had big dreams of creating a children’s book together…me writing and him illustrating. We haven’t talked about that in a while but, honestly, I really hope we make that dream come true some day.

Lastly, I admire the fact that my brother grew up inbetween two sisters and survived! He is very different from me and our younger sister…much more laid back and much more rebelous. He always got into way more trouble than we did growing up, partly because he did more bad things, and partly because he got caught more than we did 🙂  He’s had to listen to us whine and cry about boys, bra sizes, fights with best friends, etc. Plus, our little sister is currently dating one of his really good friends, and he has handled that suprisingly well (although not without a few sarcastic remarks and very strict ground rules, let me assure you). Honestly, we couldn’t have asked for a better brother.

So here’s to you, AJ. Hope 22 is beyond what you ever imagined or hoped. Love you!

P.S. My brother, despite being quite the ladies man, is currently single. If your interested, let me know and I’ll hook it up *wink*

Leave a Reply

