5 Moving Mistakes Future Brianna Will Not Make

Standard

Well, the husband an I are FINALLY done moving. That had to be the longest move in the history of moving. Seriously, we started the process in mid April and just turned in our keys yesterday. Craziness. As I reflect back on the odious process, I realize there were definitely some things we could have done differently. So, I decided to write down some tips for my future self. Future Brianna, next time you move, don’t make these mistakes:

1) I will not decided to stop cleaning the house two months before the move. The nasty mess makes everything more stressful, and at one point it was so bad I was embarrassed to have people come over and help us move because it was so gross. Plus, the cleaning after we moved out was a bitch. Next time, I will clean as I go.

2) We will not try to stuff a ton of things into a few large boxes. Other bloggers told me not to do, friends told me not to do it, heck even the boxes themselves told me not to do it. And yet when we started packing, husband and I thought we would be making more efficient use of our storage space, and would have fewer trips back and forth to the moving truck, if we crammed a lot of stuff into a few big boxes, rather than putting things in many little boxes. I mean, how heavy can some picture frames and ceramic pencil holders be, right? The answer is very heavy. And while the moving trips were fewer, they were definitely more painful than necessary. Next time I will listen to the tips printed on the side of the U-haul boxes. Speaking of boxes

3) We will start collecting boxes earlier and we will get more than we need. We waited way to late to start gathering boxes from friends and from our respective work places, and consequently had to settle for a less than ideal number. We (and by we I mean husband) actually thought we had enough, but we didn’t. On moving day we weren’t able to pack up some things because we didn’t have enough boxes. So we had to take what was boxed up to the parents house, unpack them super quickly, and then take empty boxes back up to the apartment and pack some more. Annoying.

4) I will make sure all items of an extreme personal nature are packed up BEFORE people come to help us. I won’t go into much detail on this, as it will embarrass husband and some of my older adult family members, but let’s just say that I’m lucky my brother-in-law has a limited knowledge of what sex toys look like. Or at least that’s the act he put on.

5) We will not drag the move out for 2 1/2 months. Seriously, our move took freaking forever. At first we thought we had to move out by the end of May, so we started packing up in mid April. Then we realized we didn’t have to be out till the end of June, but thought we might move out at the beginning of June, and it was this whole back and forth thing. Finally we decided we would move in the middle of June, but we didn’t have to turn in our keys until the end, so we moved most of the stuff one weekend…then went back up to move a few more things…then cleaned…then moved more things…then cleaned again. The whole thing was ridiculous. We should have busted it all out in one weekend.

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

Leave a Reply

