8 Year Old Brianna is Proud of Your Decision to Support or Boycott Chick-Fil A.

Standard

When I was 8 years old I found out that Disneyland supported something I didn’t agree with. I, in the holier than thou attitude that often accompanies Christian kids…scratch that…its an attitude that often accompanies all kids, was horrified. My best friend and I promptly wrote Disney a letter telling them how disappointed we were and vowing to never participate in anything Disney related ever again.

The letter never got sent, probably because we got distracted by an Ace of Base song.

Also, our ban on all things Disney lasted maybe a day. Maybe. After that we were back to playing with our Lion King figurines and singing “Part of Your World” at the top of our lungs. As an adult, I still love Disney and no longer care about their stance on that issue I didn’t agree with. I’m honestly more offended by the fact that Disney has raised their prices to such high amounts I can no longer afford a pass. Plus, I now realize that boycotting every company that had different beliefs than I did would force me to live an Amish lifestyle. This is America, a country based on the freedom of expression and the freedom to have different beliefs. You hear some else’s’ belief, agree or disagree, maybe debate about it for a while, then shake hands and move on. At least, that’s how it should work.

Fast forward to present day and this whole Chick-Fil-A hates gays scandal. Now, I’m going to admit to you right now that I haven’t read much on the topic, but from what I gather the basic gist is that the President of Chick Fil A spoke out against gay marriage. Some people are pissed and boycotting it. Others are supporting it. Others are banning Chick Fil A from their cities. Sound about right?

Here’s the thing. I don’t care who supports, boycotts, agrees or disagrees with Mr. Cathy. None of that will affect my ability to enjoy delicious chicken. Just like Disneyland’s corporate views don’t affect my ability to have a wonderful time every time I visit (although the prices sure do. have I mentioned how angry I am about that price hike?)

What makes me sad is that 18 years ago I lived in a world where I didn’t think twice about sharing my opinion. I lived in a country that taught me I had freedom of speech. Even at the young age of 8 I knew that I had a right to my beliefs and to share them with others. Now, I’m actually afraid to share some of my opinions. Afraid that I’ll loose friends, afraid I’ll be labeled as hateful, close minded and stupid. Afraid that people will right me off as “one of those crazy Christians” without really listening to what I have to say. Afraid that I, like Dan Cathy, will be shunned simply for sharing a belief. Afraid that my entire humanity will be judged by one belief that I have instead of by my complete human expression.

Notice in this entire post I haven’t told you what MY stance on homosexuality it is.

And that my friends, is a real tragedy.

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

6 responses »

  1. Amen! I think in far to many cases people are conflating their right to have an opinion, with the ability to suppress anyone’s opinion that doesn’t match. Chic-fil-A can spend its profits on whatever the heck it wants to, and I’ll eat there whenever the heck _I_ want to.

    I also find myself hesitant sometimes to share my views because I’m afraid people will react poorly; but on the other hand, any friends you lose* because they write* you off based on your opinion, probably aren’t the best kind of friends anyway.

    • So true, Sam. If I express my opinions in a constructive and polite way, and people still want to get upset, then they can just walk away. They’re not really worth it

  2. You have just expressed what has truly been bothering me throughout this whole Chick-fil-a imbroglio. For the first time in my adult life, I honestly feel afraid of sharing my opinions and beliefs. I fear that as soon as I say, “I don’t support gay marriage. I am a Christian,” people will assume that my belief is motivated by hatred for a group of people, as opposed to love for them. When I think about my gay and lesbian brothers and sister, for so I consider them, I feel great sadness because I believe their lifestyle springs from brokenness and is less than they were meant for. But voicing this, is it even worth it? Or does being against gay marriage automatically make me a hateful person in the eyes of the world?

    • First of all, thank you for introducing me to word “imbroglio.” Definitely adding that to my list of favorite words. Second, thank you so much for your comment. I feel that on many issues, especially homosexuality, only two opinions are expressed- complete opposition which is seen as hateful, or complete acceptance which is seen as cool. Both are unbiblical and neither represents the way that I feel, nor do they represent the way Jesus would react. I am reminded time and time again of the story of the adulteress, when Jesus says “let he who has no sin cast the first stone.” When all her accusers left, he said “I do not condemn you. Go and sin no more.” That’s so powerful! He didn’t tell her it was okay to sin, but he also didn’t pound her with a hate speech. He loved her, forgave her and then told her to stop sinning.

      It’s so important for Christians to keep this dialogue going, to share our views and encourage each other and others, no matter how risky it gets. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Well said! I too will love Chick fil A’s food just as much as I will love Starbucks coffee, even though they have opposing viewpoints on homosexuality. It shouldn’t matter what their political or religious stands are- their food/drink is still delicious!

Leave a Reply

