And Baby Makes Three

Standard

I’m about to make an announcement I honestly thought I would never make. I’m pregnant. With child. Bun in the oven. Got a doodle that can’t be undid. However you phrase it, the reality is that in 6 months a small human will be joining our little family of two. We’ve told a lot of people already and I notice that we tend to get asked the same questions, so for this announcement post I’m answering those questions in black and white.

Also, I feel obligated to inform you that this blog will slowly be transforming into a mom blog. I promise not to clog your Facebook newsfeeds with annoying anecdotes of my pregnancy and the small human that comes after, but I make no such guarantees with this blog. I’ll still talk about other stuff too, like my job, books I’m reading, good restaurants, etc. But from what I understand these little bundles take up a lot of time, energy and brain power so chances are most of my posts will at least mention the tiny human. All that to say, if you aren’t into the mom blog thing, I understand and won’t be offended if you unsubscribe.

And now, without further ado, answers to the pregnancy questions.

1) Was this planned?

Hells to the no. This was a jaw dropping, kick to the nuts, humdinger of a surprise. I thought that if Joe and I had kids, it wouldn’t be for another 2-5 years and they would be adopted, not biological. And it was something I prayed about and legit thought that God and I were on the same page. Guess I better tune my Holy Spirit antenna a little better.

2) Will you find out the gender?

Yes, I can’t handle any more major life surprises. We find out in late March.

3) When is the baby due?

August 8, which is awesome because 8 is my lucky number!

4) How are you feeling?

Right now? Like crap. I have a headache and some weird phlegm issues going on. But overall as I head into the second trimester I am starting to feel better physically. Emotionally…well that changes with the day as well. I’m definitely not upset or angry or dreading the baby coming. But I’m also not excited. A lot of that stems from the fact that Joe and I don’t have our own place right now and our money situation is super strained. I know what you’re thinking, “As long as you give the baby lots of love that’s good enough.” True, but they also need diapers which, BTW, are CRAZY expensive! And they need wipes, and a stroller, and a car seat and at least a couple onesies. In short, they cost a lot of money that we don’t have. But we just keep saving our pennies, paying off our debt and praying and trusting that God will work it out. Right now, I find it comforting to focus on the present. Although I don’t know how we’ll pay for a crib in 6 months, today I know that I can eat healthy, exercise and get lots of rest and all those things will help the baby. When I focus on that, I feel a lot better.

5) How is Joe handling all this?

In typical Joe fashion, and I mean that in a good way. He was more against having kids than I was but he is being super supportive and encouraging. He cooks a lot and even got a special cookbook on how to cook for pregnancy. He is currently looking for a new job so we can move out of the parentals, so if you’re of the praying persuasion you can add that to your list.

6) Any names picked out?

Yes, but we are going to be smug and not tell you yet 😉

7) Any crazy cravings?

Not crazy ones, no. The other day I had a huge craving for a bear claw. I know they are super unhealthy so I made myself wait three days before caving. And oh my, it was glorious. I’ve also been craving pickles, which isn’t too weird because I’ve always loved pickles, but I have been wanting them more than usual. I think its the salt?

To sum it up, we are very happy about the baby, but also very freaked out and we have no idea what the next six months hold. But I guess that’s part of the fun, uh? We’ll keep you posted

About britheblogger

I am an Orange County native who is closer to 30 than 20, prefers comedies to dramas, loves healthy food and crap food equally and believes bad days can be cured with a walk on the beach. Mother to a very smart, funny, energetic and opinionated blue eyed toddler. Nanny to a teen who is athletic, sarcastic, intelligent and always looking out for the underdog. Wife to a man who serves his family selflessly, is incredibly handy and an amazing cook. We have four rules in our home: love God, love each other, eat In N Out and always cheer for the Angels.

5 responses »

  1. I didn’t ask any of those questions. Am I weird? Those things never crossed my mind. I guess cause I knew it wasn’t planned. I just thought about your poor parents and the dog… also the knitting that would be done. Still going to steal it(The baby) Glad you are feeling better-ish.

    • haha my poor parents? They’re stoked! They get to play with a baby and don’t have to pay for it or discipline it or send it college. You should definitely feel sorry for the dog, though. Poor girl is already getting super neglected because I cannot stand her smell. As for stealing, feel free, just make sure it doesn’t interfere with nap time 😉

  2. How come you didn’t post my question and your answer…..???

    How did this happen?!? Haha. I haven’t laughed so hard in a while! This blog is going to be awesome. Not your typical “I’ve wait my whole life to feel this nauseated and fat” blog 😉 we will be praying for you guys and will help however we can when the time comes!!!! Xoxo!!!!

Leave a Reply

